Must Read: The love languages

Once upon a time. I was on the move with Dad when we saw this woman in her 50’s (a beautiful widow).

As soon as we passed her, dad said; “if I were into women, I’d have had a relationship with that woman because she was interested in me. But I couldn’t because apart from the fact that I’m a family man, there are only two things a man can give to a woman:

(1) ​Time
(2) ​Money​
Which I have in limited supply”.

Now let’s move a little bit out of this story. Advance studies by various schools of thought says there are five love languages:
(1) ​Spending quality time​
(2) ​Act of service
(3) ​Words of affirmation/encouragement​
(4) ​Buying gifts​
(5) ​Touch (romance)​

Discover your Love language

Critically examining the list, we can say it’s a broad spectrum of dad’s opinion.
Thus categorizing, Number 1, 2, 3, 5 will fall under ​time​ while Number 4 will fall under ​money​.

One can’t just wake up and say “my love language is this or that” because we exhibit all the love languages but in an order of hierarchy.
You can only know your love language by noting that which you exhibit often for those you ​care​ about or otherwise ​love;​ drawing a line for family, friends and those you are attracted to.

Hence the love language of an individual is the two paramount love language he exhibits according to his hierarchy.

Everybody has two peculiar love language which explains the way they display affection. In time past, I felt people buy gifts when they’ve caught feelings for someone to buy them off and so on.
However, understanding the concept of love language changed my perception.

Most children’s love language is ​act of service​. You see them perhaps clear the dish you used in eating or wash your socks or dish without you asking, and you think they are seeking attention.

No friend! They care about you but don’t know what other way to express it. Of course everybody in one way or the other loves attention; but ​we shouldn’t be quick in writing people off.

I’ve come to know that we are meant to complement each other. The reason we are different and thus unique.

​Pay attention!​
​We are what we constantly do.​

Much More 9ja

This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from, Nigeria's Entertainment and Information Website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

6 Ways to live longer and healthier lives

Sat Feb 23 , 2019
6 Tips to live longer and healthier lives 1. Having a free mindset: Grudge is like a sword that pierce into the mind, injure it without any physical trace or you noticing a trace about it.Keep your mind free from grudges. 2. Eat Healthy food: Eating healthy food is a sure way […]
Tips to live longer and healthier

You May Like